Local Time
4:30 PM MST

Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

• 521 Banff Avenue | Banff, AB | T1L 1H8
Average User Rating:
8.03/10
Recommended by:
100%
Sort Reviews by:
"Standard Room=Luxury!"
Image

Save Review

July 2012 — "On our recent trip to Banff we opted to stay at the Banff Cariboo Lodge right on the main street. It's a beautiful hotel and the staff both checking us in and checking us out were outstanding in their friendly and very helpful ways. When I first got to the room the lights were not working and I called the front desk. Someone was there immediately and helped to fix the minor problem. Our room was large and marvelously luxurious looking. The two Queen beds proved to be as comfy as they looked and the bed linens were wonderful. The extra pillows were perfect. The bathroom was bright and had the feeling I was in a wonderful mountain cabin, soaking in their lovely big tub. We had a coffee maker and a frig and free internet. The dining table and chairs by the windows proved to come in handy for us. We loved our stay here and will sure be back soon as possible."

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
8.83/10

Bathroom Condition
•••••••••

Public Spaces
•••••••••

Room Condition
•••••••••

Safety & Security
•••••••••

Staff Service
••••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


Management Response:
"Thank you for the review. I'm glad to hear our staff were a highlight of your stay and that the room was comfortable and inviting. We hope to see you at the Caribou Lodge when you return to Banff!"
"Good location, friendly staff"
Image

Save Review

March 2011 — "We stayed here with a living social coupon that I purchased, the hallways and doors to the rooms were in really rough shape but once you got into the room it was completely different. The beds were really comfortable but the bedding was dirty and the blankets were really old, we called housekeeping to replace them and they were prompt in getting to our room. The location was great, within walking distance to downtown Banff and having the Keg in the hotel is an added bonus. If you were not within walking distance or you don't enjoy walking around the town they offer a complimentary bus pass for all guests. The spa is really nice and the staff were very attentive. We also spent some time in the hot pools and steam room, they were very clean and relaxing. Overall the service was great, the lobby was inviting and the hotel was quiet (even though our window faced the main road). When we returned home I realized that I had left my toiletries in the bathroom and I called to have them returned, the only thing I didn't like was the service I received from the hotel. They told me the cost would be less then what I was charged and they didn't send the right toiletries back to me. I asked for a manager to call me back and never heard anything. This probably wouldn't be my first place to stay at when we come back and that is only because of the service I just described. I also acknowledge that this is the case for most hotels when leaving stuff behind."

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
7.17/10

Bathroom Condition
•••••••••

Public Spaces
••••••••••

Room Condition
••••••••••

Safety & Security
••••••••••

Staff Service
•••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


"Very nice!"
Image

Save Review

July 2010 — "I stayed at this hotel with some friends and it was a really nice stay. Their rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and we were fortunate enough to have a balcony off of ours that we could enjoy the sun on. The hotel has a spa and although we didn't use the spa, we were able to use the hot tub and steam room, which were both great. The location is pretty good -- they're right on Banff ave, but they're on the far end of it from most of the pub and restaurants so it's maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the heart of Banff. Because it was nice out, we were happy to walk but once it became dark out, we took a cab. It was only $5 or so. Price-wise, it wasn't a bargain by any means, but I think it was comparable to other Banff properties. "

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
8/10

Bathroom Condition
•••••••••

Public Spaces
••••••••••

Room Condition
••••••••••

Safety & Security
••••••••••

Staff Service
••••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


"Good Service and Location"
Image

Save Review

June 2010 — "I recently went on a trip to Banff with some friends and we spent two nights at the Banff Caribou Lodge. When I booked the hotel, I upgraded to the superior room and then saw that for an additional $15 we could have the guarantee of a balcony. One of the girls really wanted a balcony so I reluctantly paid the extra $15. On principle, I normally wouldn't have done this because I find additional charges for things like this insulting and greedy on the part of the hotel. Upon arrival, we were a little disappointed in the room because for a "superior" room, it was very small. But it did indeed have the promised $15 balcony. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was too small for four people, but we weren't planning on spending much time in the hotel room, so we managed okay. The location of the hotel was good. It was a bit far from the centre of town but it was nice weather and we didn't mind walking. If you can't walk you have the option of taking the bus, so no big deal. There is a Keg restaurant in the hotel, which is handy, but we didn't eat there. All in all, it was a good hotel, but definitely overpriced (but I suppose that's typical for a tourist-trap like Banff) and lacking amenities to make up for the price."

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
8.33/10

Bathroom Condition
••••••••••

Public Spaces
•••••••••

Room Condition
••••••••••

Safety & Security
••••••••••

Staff Service
••••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


"Spacious Rooms"
Image

Save Review

June 2010 — "We recently spent a night at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa in the Deluxe Jacuzzi Loft Suite. My boyfriend and I liked the spacious layout of this suite, which consisted of a living room with a table, couch, TV, wood burning fireplace and a powder room on the main floor and a king size bed, a TV and a huge bathroom with a Jacuzzi on the second level. Although I enjoyed my stay in this suite, I think for a luxury suite the room could use some updating. The furniture was starting to look worn out and the bathroom upstairs could be updated with new counters. Also, features like a mini fridge and a microwave would be handy to have in this suite. However, all in all I thought Banff Caribou Lodge was a good place to stay. It's within walking distance to downtown Banff and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful."

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
7.67/10

Bathroom Condition
••••••••••

Public Spaces
••••••••••

Room Condition
••••••••••

Safety & Security
••••••••••

Staff Service
••••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


Management Response:
"Dear Chloe, Thank you for your feed back, both postive and constructive. I am very happy to inform you that we are indeed updating the rooms this year with a hope to have them all updated by Christmas 2010. The updates will include new furniture and closet to include more storage, new wall coverings, new window treatments, new bedding and completely new bathrooms including granite counter tops, new tile and a new Jacuzzi tub in the room you were in this time. The leather sofa, leather chair, carpet and flat pannel TV's are all new within the last year so they will not be replaced. We hope that you get a chance to come back and experience the new and improved Banff Caribou Lodge and Spa in the future. Regards, Jim Milley"
"Good Hotel"
Image

Save Review

September 2009 — "A friend and I went to this hotel for an overnight getaway in Banff. We choose this hotel because we were able to pick up a room for a very reasonable price. The hotel was right on Banff Avenue which made it extremely accessible to just walk downtown. The hotel appeared to be a bit older but was in good condition. The service at the front desk was excellent. We had free underground parking. Our room was of small to standard size with a good size bathroom. The décor and condition of furniture was average. The beds were quite comfortable and the room was very clean. Although we did not spend much time at the hotel or in the room, we did make use of the hot tub facilities which were extremely nice. The hot tub was very large, and very hot. Perhaps a bit too hot as we were not able to stay in it for very long. The hotel was quiet at night. Overall I would rate this hotel as ‘good’. "

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
7.17/10

Bathroom Condition
••••••••••

Public Spaces
••••••••••

Room Condition
••••••••••

Safety & Security
••••••••••

Staff Service
••••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


"incredible breakfast"
Image

Save Review

September 2008 — "my wife and i ate breakfast here every morning of our one week stay in banff - the food is superb and so is the service; the staff are warm and friendly"

[ Write Management Response ]

User Rating
10/10

Bathroom Condition
••••••••••

Public Spaces
••••••••••

Value for Money
••••••••••


BulletDescription

The Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa features impressive hand-hewn logs that accent the building's exterior and lobby and create the spectacular ambiance of this mountain lodge. The massive fieldstone fireplace that dominates the lobby invites guests to relax in front of warm crackling flames. The lodge boasts 190 well-appointed rooms, and offers facilities including the Keg Steakhouse and Bar, the Red Earth Spa, high-speed Internet access, heated underground parking, an exercise room, a jetted hot pool and a steam room.
BulletServices & Amenities

Fitness Facilities

Hot Tub / Jacuzzi / Whirlpool

Restaurant On Site

Pub / Lounge / Bar On Site

Coffee/Tea Maker

Non-Smoking Property

Room Service

High Speed Internet in Rooms

Private Bathrooms
BulletLocation Information

521 Banff Avenue
Banff AB T1L 1H8

 
Your First Name:  
Last Name:  
Email Address:  
Re-Type Email Address:  
 
Your Message:  
Anti-Spam Verification:

Red Earth Spa at Banff Caribou Lodge
previous pause next
Photos of Banff  Red Earth Spa at Banff Caribou Lodge

Business Owners/Managers
Do you manage a business in Banff? If so, please search our tourism directory to ensure your company information is up to date and accurate. If you don't find a listing, we invite you to add a complimentary listing.

Add A Business Listing

If you want to increase your exposure to the millions of people who come to WorldWeb.com each month to plan their trips and vacations, please refer to our advertising information.